Lake County Courthouse

Historic Tour

601 3rd Ave, Two Harbors, MN 55616, USA

The Lake County Courthouse, the first original courthouse of Lake County, originated as a wooden building built in Two Harbors in 1887. In 1904, it burned to the ground and a new courthouse was rebuilt in 1905.

A mural called “Angel of Justice” once decorated the inside of the dome. The 10 by 15-foot canvas mural was removed in 1945, but has since been restored, and placed in the main corridor as a bicentennial project in 1976.

View Website